The 2020 MLB season

Updated: Aug 4, 2020

The MLB is back. After weeks of negations between the owners and the MLBPA, Rob Manfred has implemented a 60-game season. The players voted against the owners 60-game proposal; therefore, Rob Manfred used his right to implement a season. The negation process was a mess, it consisted of constant blame, and each side wanting to get their way and not willing to compromise with the other. The guidelines for the season are as follows; It will be a 60-game season, with the players getting prorated play. Players will report on July 1st, and the season will start on July 23 or 24. These games will be played at team’s home ballparks, and the trade deadline is August 31. There are a couple new rule changes for the 2020 season. While the schedule is still up in the air, there will be geographical divisional play. So, the Nationals division will include teams from the east coast, Orioles, Mets, Yankees, etc. There will be a DH in the NL for the 2020 season. During an extra-innings game, each team will start with a runner on second at the beginning of each half-inning. There also are many safety precaution. Players will be tested for COVID-19 every other day. Spitting any substance including saliva, sunflower seeds, peanuts and tabaco is prohibited. Chewing gum is allowed. Regardless if you like the new rules changes, all that matters is that baseball is back.

41 views0 comments